

AUSTRIAN
ACADEMY OF
SCIENCES





JOINT ACADEMY DAY OEAW-EASAC

SUSTAINABLE ENERGY SOLUTIONS

MONDAY, 6TH NOVEMBER 2023 AUSTRIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES FESTIVE HALL DR. IGNAZ SEIPEL-PLATZ 2 1010 VIENNA In order to strengthen cooperation with partner academies abroad, the Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW) organizes regular "Joint Academy Days".

Within the framework of this event series, representatives of the OeAW discuss scientific and science policy issues with members of their partner academies.

The European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC) is a network of national science academies of member states of the European Union as well as Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom that has existed since 2001. EASAC prepares statements, reports and popular science writings on current socially relevant topics in the fields of energy, the environment and health, in particular for the institutions of the EU.

With the location of the EASAC Office at the Austrian Academy of Sciences from 2024 (at least until 2026), the OeAW will strengthen the critical voice of European scientists in supporting evidence-informed policymaking.

The Joint Academy Day thus also serves as an unofficial kick-off to this new collaboration.

The event is dedicated to the subject of "Sustainable Energy Solutions" and will open with a keynote lecture by the President of EASAC, Wim van Saarloos.

An exciting round of discussions is to be expected, as experts from both institutions will participate in a panel on the highly relevant topic of "Energy Transition: Realistic Ambitions and Ambitious Perspectives".

REGISTRATION requested by November 1, 2023: www.oeaw.ac.at/veranstaltungen/anmeldung/jointacademyday

CONTACT: Julia Weilinger, BA, OeAW, T: +43 1 51581-1214 *julia.weilinger@oeaw.ac.at*

We may inform you as a participant in the event that photographs and/or films will be taken in the course of this event. These recordings may be used in various media (print, TV, online,...) and in publications (print, online,...) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

PUBLIC PROGRAM

13:30–13:45 Opening and introduction

Heinz Faßmann | President of the Austrian Academy of Sciences

(OeAW)

Wim van Saarloos | President of the European Academies Science

Advisory Council (EASAC)

13:45–14:15 Keynote Lecture

Wim van Saarloos | President of EASAC

"Science for policy advice by academies - teaming up through EASAC at

the European level"

14:15–14:45 COFFEE BREAK

14:45–16:00 Panel Discussion

"Energy Transition: Realistic Ambitions and Ambitious Perspectives"

Moderation

Ulrike Diebold | *Vice President of the OeAW*

OEAW:

Georg Brasseur | Professor Emeritus of Electrical Measurement and Sensor Systems at the Graz University of Technology and Scientific Director of netER – new energy transition Europe Research-Association. Former President of the Division of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the OeAW.

Keywan Riahi | Director of the Energy, Climate and Environment Program at the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA). Lead author of the Third, Fourth, Fifth and Sixth IPCC Assessment Reports. Member of the EU Advisory Board on Climate Change and Co-chair of the Austrian Panel on Climate Change.

EASAC:

Neven Duić | Professor of Power Engineering and Energy Management at the University of Zagreb and Vice President of the Croatian Academy of Engineering. Co-chair of the EASAC Energy Steering panel and the "Future of Gas" working group.

William Gillett | Director of the EASAC Energy Programme and former Head of Unit for Renewable Energy of the European Commission's executive agency.

Anne Neumann | Professor of Managerial Economics at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology and Director of Research of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology Energy Transition Initiative. Co-lead-author of the EASAC-report "Future of Gas".

Hanna-Leena Pesonen | Dean of the Jyväskylä University School of Business and Economics and Professor of Corporate Environmental Management. Co-chair of the EASAC Energy Steering panel.

16:00-16:30 O&A

16:30–16:45 Thanks and closing remarks

Heinz Faßmann | President of the OeAW Wim van Saarloos | President of the EASAC

16:45 Reception